Who is a Chaplain?

A Chaplain is typically a representative of a religious faith such as a Priest, Pastor, an ordained Deacon, Rabbi or other members of the Clergy who serve people that are not organized as a mission or church and for some reason are unable to attend church.

For example health problems, confinement military or civil duties.

Types of Chaplaincies

1.  Christian Chaplaincy

Christian Chaplaincy is a specialized ministry.  Actually it is a calling within a ministry.  Christian Chaplains do not serve in churches but are instead public servants who are called to listen, care and respond appropriately to those they serve, relying on the Lord Jesus Christ for guidance.

2. Health Care Chaplains

Health Care Chaplains are employed by hospitals to assist with the spiritual needs of patients and their families as well as staff.

3.  Correctional Chaplain

Correctional Chaplains provide pastoral care for persons in prisons, jails and correctional facilities.   They provide a ray of hope and stability for the lost and hopeless.  They provide spiritual care, pastoral counseling as well as grief counseling.

4.  Domestic Chaplains

Domestic Chaplains are attached to households and are able to perform funerals, family christenings and weddings as well as conduct services in Private chapel.

Ethical Principles for Chaplains as relates to other professionals

  • Should understand ones own limitations and make referrals to other professionals when appropriate.
  • Promote justice in relationships with others, in their institutions and in society.
  • Represent accurately their professional qualifications and affiliations
  • Exercise good stewardship of resources entrusted to ones care and employ sound financial practices.
  • Respect the opinions, beliefs and professional endeavor of colleagues and other professionals.